“Change of Plans!”

Hey guys, this is Cameron

This has become one of our favorite phrases here in Thailand: “Change of plans!” We knew coming in that the church here in Kranuan loves for the Aggies to come, so there would be lots to do, but the specifics of what will happen are tough to work out beforehand. (Sometimes even after a conversation or something happens it is tough to work out what just happened  : ) This was pretty evident to me yesterday.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

We were excited because it was our first day teaching English at this school some of the Thai Christian kids go to, Kranuan Community School, but the school wasn’t sure what time they wanted us. At 7:45 I get a call from our contact saying “You ready? Pick up at 8:50!” I said ok, taking my time to get ready.  As I’m about to step in the shower I hear some Thai voices outside talking to Jared. “You ready? We go!” I heard the wrong time, it was supposed to be 7:50, so me Jared and Abbie get ready in like 10 minutes and go to the school.

When we get to the school, one of the first things we do is get up on a stage in front of maybe a few hundred kids (I guess I’m bad at guestimating because Abbie, Jared and our Thai helpers are saying more than 1000 kids) and we are supposed to say: “Your name, where you from, and atittude!” So I say “My name is Cameron. I am from Texas in America. I am so HAPPY!”

When they take everyone to their rooms, the Aggies learn that we each are in charge of our own class for 1 hour. This was interesting because so far we have always taught in groups of Aggies. I’m so glad Jared and Abbie were so great. I played a simple version of Simon says, taught how to introduce themselves and each other. As it was getting near the end of the hour, I was running out of my material, so I was trying to stretch it out. Then the principal came in and says: “Are you tired? Everyone likes you teaching. Change of plans! You have another hour!” So we all started some new lessons and taught another hour (: It was awesome, and the students were sad to see us leave.  I know both the Aggies and the students are excited about the next few days at the school.

Maybe enjoy some Dr. Pepper for me, I will enjoy some noodles and some rice dishes for you! Also, hope you enjoyed the slideshow, don’t be shy leave some comments

– Cameron

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to “Change of Plans!”

  1. marney White Matt's Mom says:

    Hey Cameron Looks like you are all having a great time. What a wonderful experience. I see where Matt is sick, is he feeling any better? Marn

    • Mom I’ve called you now eight times on Skype. Why you no answer? I’m fine Mom, but answer your phone at night so I can talk to you. Love you bunches xoxoxoxo – as narrated by Matt (typed by Cameron)

  2. Karen says:

    Hey Cam! I’m trying to see how this comment thing works! Did you send links to this blog to anyone?

Leave a comment